Essex Facts

1968-69 Catalog

ECC was established in 1966 as the public, two-year community college of Essex County and admitted its first students in temporary quarters in downtown Newark in 1968, and moved to its current permanent site in the heart of the University Heights district of the city in 1976. Newark is New Jersey’s largest city, 10 miles west of New York City.

  • More than 25,000 people enroll each year in ECC’s various degree and non-credit programs, including students from over 70 foreign countries.
  • The curriculum features close to 70 majors and 564 courses a part of a wide range of transfer and career programs.
  • ECC is adjacent to Rutgers University-Newark and the New Jersey Institute of Technology.
  • ECC sends more transfer students to Rutgers-Newark, New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT), and Bloomfield College than any other two-year college in New Jersey.
  • Tuition and fees for an ECC student are significantly lower than at 4-year colleges and universities in New Jersey.
Better Fact Book 2023-24 Cover